Shaheen Afridi, Haris Rauf picked up by Welsh Fire in Hundred draft


Shaheen Afridi, Haris Rauf picked up by Welsh Fire in Hundred draft

by Staff • Last updated on Fri, Mar 24, 2023

England’s Tom Abell and Sophia Dunkley became the first picks in the 2023 The Hundred drafts, on Thursday – both picked by Welsh Fire. Overall, 64 players were snapped across the men’s and women’s categories by 8 teams.

The order for selection was based on last year’s finishing positions. Welsh Fire went on to snap the Pakistan pace duo of Shaheen Afridi and Haris Rauf later in the draft, both of whom are yet to play in the tournament.

Meanwhile, Grace Harris (London Spirits), Laura Wolvaardt (Manchester Originals), Kate Cross (Northern Superchargers), Suzie Bates (Oval Invincibles) and Harmanpreet Kaur (Trent Rockets) were the other first picks for each team of the women’s draft.

Danni Wyatt, Sophie Devine and Alice Davidson-Richards were snapped using the Right to Match card.

Meanwhile, in the Men’s draft, several top foreign players, including Kieron Pollard, Babar Azam and Trent Boult, were ignored in favour of local talents. Australian all-rounder Tim David was retained by Southern Brave using the Right to Match.

The third edition of The Hundred is set to begin on August 1. Each team will be able to sign two more players as ‘wildcards’ after the group stages of the T20 Blast. The women’s team will be allowed to make signings outside of the draft process.

Birmingham Phoenix: Sophie Devine, Hannah Baker, Eve Jones, Katie Levick, Ben Duckett, Jamie Smith, Miles Hammond.

London Spirit: Grace Harris, Sarah Glenn, Sophie Munro, Sophie Luff, Mitchell Marsh, Olly Stone, Michael Pepper.

Manchester Originals: Laura Wolvaardt, Amanda-Jade Wellington, Kathryn Bryce, Katie George, Laurie Evans, Ashton Turner, Josh Tongue.

Northern Superchargers: Kate Cross, Georgia Wareham, Alice Davidson-Richards, Reece Topley, Tom Banton, Michael Bracewell, Bas de Leede.

Oval Invincibles: Suzie Bates, Dane Van Niekerk, Mady Villiers, Paige Scholfield, Heinrich Klaasen, Ross Whiteley, Ihsanullah.

Southern Brave: Danni Wyatt, Anya Shrubsole, Chloe Tryon, Maitlan Brown, Leus du Plooy, Tim David, Devon Conway.

Trent Rockets: Harmanpreet Kaur, Lizelle Lee, Kirstie Gordon, Grace Potts, Tom Kohler-Cadmore, Sam Hain, Brad Wheal.

Welsh Fire: Sophia Dunkley, Shabnim Ismail, Georgia Elwiss, Freya Davies, Laura Harris, Alex Hartley, Tom Abell, David Willey, Shaheen Afridi, Glenn Phillips, Haris Rauf, Roelof van der Merwe, Stevie Eskinazi, Daniel Douthwaite.

About crickethighlights

Watch ICC T20 World Cup Highlights, T20 Cricket Highlights, ODI Cricket Highlights, mycrickethighlights only on

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *