Mehidy Hasan included in Bangladesh’s all-format contract


Mehidy Hasan included in Bangladesh’s all-format contract

by  Atif Azam  •  Last updated on Sat, Jan 21, 2023, 

A slew of performances across formats has earned all-rounder Mehidy Hasan an all-format contract by the Bangladesh Cricket Board, which announced a 21-member list of centrally contracted cricketers for the 2023 season.

Along with Mehidy, the BCB also included Shakib al Hasan, Taskin Ahmed and Litton Das in the all-format category. Meanwhile, Mushfiqur Rahim – who was part of the all-format category for most of his career – was handed contracts only for Tests and ODIs. Shoriful Islam also failed to retain his all-format contract.

Four cricketers – Shadman Islam, Mahmudul Hasan, Naim Sheikh and Yasir Ali – failed to retain their place in the contract list.

Meanwhile, Zakir Hasan, who played well against India, was handed a Test contract. Khaled Ahmed was another new entrant in the Test category. Mossadek Hossain and Hasan Mahmud are the two new inclusions in the T20 contract list.

Yasir’s exclusion was the most surprising of the lot considering the fact that he was a part of the last Test and ODI series, apart from being in the squad for the latest ICC T20 World Cup.

“It’s right that he was very much part of our team across format but he could not deliver as per our expectation and that is the reason he is not been included in the central contract,” BCB chief selector Minhajul Abedin told Cricbuzz.

“The other three cricketers – Joy, Shadman, Naim – also failed to fulfill our expectation,” he said. “We feel Zakir has a bright prospect, and as a result, we included him in the contract list for the Test category.”

Nazmul Hossain failed to get an all-format contract, being included in the Test and T20I category

Earlier, had reported that former T20I skipper Mahmudullah, who retired from Tests earlier, is unlikely to keep his T20 contract and BCB opted to introduce a new ODIs category to include him.

All formats: Shakib Al Hasan, Litton Das, Taskin Ahmed and Mehidy Hasan.

Tests and ODIs: Tamim Iqbal and Mushfiqur Rahim.

Only Tests: Mominul Haque, Taijul Islam, Ebadat Hossain, Khaled Ahmed and Zakir Hasan.

Only ODIs: Mahmudullah

Test and T20s: Nazmul Hossain and Nurul Hasan.

ODIs and T20Is: Mustafizur Rahman, Afif Hossain, Shoriful Islam.

Only T20Is: Mahedi Hasan, Mossadek Hossain, Nasum Ahmed, Hasan Mahmud.

About crickethighlights

Watch ICC T20 World Cup Highlights, T20 Cricket Highlights, ODI Cricket Highlights, mycrickethighlights only on

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *