Mayank hundred props up Karnataka


Mayank hundred props up Karnataka

by Staff  •  Published on Wed, Feb 8, 2023

Karnataka vs Saurashtra

Led by Mayank Agarwal’s unbeaten 110, Karnataka amassed 229 for 5 on a slow-moving opening day of the semifinal against Saurashtra, at the M Chinnaswamy Stadium. The opener cracked 11 boundaries and a six, and stitched an unbeaten partnership of 117 with S Sharath for the sixth wicket to bail the home side from a precarious situation.

Put in to bat, Saurashtra’s new ball pair of Chetan Sakariya and Kushang Patel had the hosts reduced to 21 for 2 within the first 45 minutes of play. Agarwal revived the innings briefly in the company of Nikhil Jose before the latter fell to Kushang on 18. Reduced to 112 for 5 in a session and a half, it was Sharath who gave company to the captain to bail the team out. The ‘keeper-bat scored a watchful, unbeaten 58 to take the side safely to stumps.

Brief Scores: Karnataka 229/5 (Mayank Agarwal 110*, S Sharath 58*; Kushang Patel 2-64) vs Saurashtra

Madhya Pradesh vs Bengal

Centuries by Sudip Gharami and Anustup Majumdar laid the foundation for Bengal’s dominant display on the opening day of the semifinal clash against Madhya Pradesh, in Indore, as the visitors scored 307 for 4.

Electing to bat, Bengal openers – Abhimanyu Easwaran and Karan Lal – stitched a half-century stand before both fell in successive overs to Gaurav Yadav and Anubhav Agarwal respectively. Nonetheless, Majumdar and Gharami ensured that the defending champions couldn’t claw their way back into the contest, putting on a 241-run partnership for the third wicket before both also fell in quick succession in the last half an hour of the day.

Manoj Tiwary and Shahbaz Ahmed negated the late threat and ensured Bengal went to stumps without any further damage.

Brief Scores: Bengal 307/4 (Anustup Majumdar 120, Sudip Gharami 112; Anubhav Agarwal 2-21) vs Madhya Pradesh

About crickethighlights

Watch ICC T20 World Cup Highlights, T20 Cricket Highlights, ODI Cricket Highlights, mycrickethighlights only on

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *