Bangladesh pick uncapped trio for England T20Is


Bangladesh pick uncapped trio for England T20Is

by Atif Azam • Published on Wed, Mar 1, 2023

The Bangladesh Cricket Board has included three uncapped cricketers – Towhid Hridoy, Rejaur Rahman Raja and Tanvir Islam in their 15-member squad for the opening two T20Is of the three-match series against England at home.

Apart from the trio, opening batsman Rony Talukdar returned to the national squad after a gap of eight years via his brilliant batting performances in the Bangladesh Premier League. Talukdar represented Bangladesh in this shortest format only once back in 2015 but has now forced his way back into the side. Shamim Hossain also returned to the side for the first time since 2021.

“All of them performed well in the BPL and that is the reason we picked them. Rony really played well in the tournament while it was the same for Shamim and as far as the debutants are concerned they did well in the shortest format to earn their spot,” BCB’s chief selector Minhajul Abedin told Cricbuzz on Wednesday.

Minhajul added that though they have dropped- Yasir Ali, Soumya Sarkar, Ebadot Hossain, Mosaddek Hossain and Shoriful Islam – who were part of the last T20 squad which toured Australia for the ICC T20 World Cup, the doors are not completely closed on them. “We are going to sit with them in the coming days to discuss with them about our plans because they are under our 20 to 22 members pool,” he said.

The three-match T20I series will start in Chattogram on March 9. The second and third games are scheduled in Dhaka on March 12 and 14 respectively. This will be the first bilateral T20 international series between the two teams.

Bangladesh squad:Shakib Al Hasan (capt), Liton Das, Najmul Hossain Shanto, Afif Hossain, Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Mustafizur Rahman, Taskin Ahmed, Hasan Mahmud, Nasum Ahmed, Nurul Hasan Sohan, Shamim Hossain, Rony Talukdar, Towhid Hridoy, Rejaur Rahman Raja and Tanvir Islam

About crickethighlights

Watch ICC T20 World Cup Highlights, T20 Cricket Highlights, ODI Cricket Highlights, mycrickethighlights only on

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *